OneDrive restore job
Introduction
The OneDrive restore job is used to restore previously backed-up OneDrive items that have been deleted from their original OneDrive location. All items that can be backed up by Backup Administration can also be restored.
The following sections explain how to create and configure a OneDrive restore job, including the items and versions to restore, overwrite behavior, modification dates, filtering, notification, and resource settings. They also describe how to save and run the job and monitor the restore process on the Job progress page.
OneDrive restore job configuration
To create a OneDrive restore job, click + New on the Jobs page and select OneDrive restore from the dropdown menu. The Job configuration window then appears. Configure the following sections:
- Name: Each restore job requires a unique name to distinguish it from other restore jobs. By default, the system assigns a name to the new restore job, but you can change it as needed.
- Cluster nodes: Select the node where the restore job will run.
- Schedule: Select the running times of the restore job. You can either select an existing schedule from the list or create a new one by clicking the + button in the Schedule row. For restore jobs, it is recommended to set a One time schedule or start the job manually. For more information, see Schedules.
- Processing settings: Configure what will be restored and how. See the Processing settings section below for details.
- Filtering settings: Click Change filter to configure filtering according to your requirements. For more information, see Filtering in jobs.
- Notification settings: Configure when the restore job should send notification emails. You can choose to receive notifications always, never, or only when an error or warning occurs — for example, when the restore of one or more items fails. Enter the recipient email addresses in the Recipient list textbox.
- Resource settings: Set the value that determines how many items can be processed simultaneously by the restore job. The recommended value is 2.
Processing settings
Overwrite existing file
Define when an item should be overwritten if it already exists in the target location:
- Never – if the item exists, it will not be processed.
- Always – existing items are always overwritten with the backed-up version.
- If older/newer than the archived version – the item is processed only if its latest version in OneDrive is older or newer than the backed-up version, depending on the selected option.

Set the modification date of recovered items to
Select which date should be assigned to restored files:
- Original – the modification date of the backed-up item is preserved on the restored file.
- Recovery date – the date when the restore job is running is assigned to the restored file.
What to recover
Select which version of the items should be restored:
- All versions – restores the complete version history of items, or the missing versions if the items already exist.
- Last known version – restores the latest backed-up version of the item if it does not exist in OneDrive.
- Specific date – restores the version from the specified modification date or an earlier date if the item does not exist in OneDrive.
Address book objects to restore
Select the OneDrive or the entire organization to be processed by the restore job. Click + Add, select the required OneDrive sites in the selection window, and then click Save.


Save and run the restore job
After configuring the restore job, click Save at the bottom of the page to save the configuration and return to the Jobs page. If you want to start processing immediately, click Save and run — the restore job starts and you are redirected to the Job progress page.

Monitor restore progress
On the Job progress page, you can monitor the restore job and check its current status and progress. You can also:
- restart a finished job or stop a running job using the Start/Stop button;
- view the latest logs by clicking Show last logs;
- view the session logs of the currently running job; and
- modify the job by clicking Modify job, which redirects you to the Job configuration page.
