Skip to main content
Version: 7.3

Configuration of Delete job in Email archive

Introduction​

The Delete job in Email archive removes previously archived data from the archive once it has expired. This page describes how to configure a Delete job, including its running mode, scheduling, address book objects, processing, filtering, notification, and resource settings, as well as the conditions under which a document is considered expired.

info

Note: Before configuring the job, you need to mark files/emails for deletion in contentACCESS Portal. For more information, see Tasks supported by entities/models.

Create a Delete job​

  1. Go to Jobs -> Add new -> Delete from archive.

On the job's configuration page, go through the following sections. Most of them are mandatory; filtering settings are optional.

Running mode settings​

The job can be run in three modes:

  • Immediate deletion: Collects the expired documents and deletes them.

  • Create report: Collects the expired documents and provides a CSV file with a list of documents. The administrator can delete documents from the list.

  • Apply report: A CSV file with a list of documents to be deleted must be uploaded. The administrator can delete documents from the list before running the job—only documents which are in the list will be processed. The job reads the list and, if the documents are expired, deletes them.

Scheduling settings​

In this step, select the running times of the Delete job. You can either select a scheduler from the list or create a new scheduler via the Create new … option.

Address book objects to process​

Select the mailboxes, groups, or the entire Exchange server to be processed by the Delete job. Click the Documentation340.1 select option, check the desired mailboxes, groups, or servers in the Mailbox selection window, and click OK.

warning

Important: If an on-premise Exchange group is used in a job configuration, the job configuration needs to be updated after the group is moved to the cloud, since the group identifier changes and the job is still using the old identifier.

Steps to take:

  • Open the job's configuration page.
  • Remove the group from the list of Address book objects to process.
  • Select the group and re-add it to the list.
  • Save the job configuration.

Processing settings​

In this section, you may check the Delete even if not marked for delete checkbox. If you do so, the Delete job will delete expired items without them needing to be marked for delete.

Filtering settings​

Click the Change filter button and set the filtering according to your needs and/or regulations. To learn more about how to work with filtering settings, see Filtering in jobs.

Notification settings​

Select when you need to receive notification emails from the Delete job. You can set this to always, never, or only if an error/warning occurred during the process—for example, if the deletion of one or more items failed, you may receive a notification email about this error. In the Recipient list textbox, enter the email addresses of the people you would like to send these emails to. If there are multiple recipients, separate the addresses with , or ;.

Resource settings​

Set the value that determines how many items will be processed simultaneously by the Delete job. The recommended value is 2.

At the end, remember to save your job configuration by clicking Save in the upper-left corner of the UI.

When does a document expire?​

A document is considered expired when either of the following conditions is met:

  • The protected retention has expired (archive date/reference date + protected retention is in the past), the document is not under legal hold, and the document is marked for deletion.
  • The unprotected retention is defined and has expired (archive date/reference date + unprotected retention is in the past).