Skip to main content
Version: 7.3

Configuration of Delete job in File archive

Introduction​

The Delete job in File archive removes previously archived data from the archive. This page describes how to configure the Delete job, including its running modes, scheduling, folder selection, processing and filtering settings, notifications, resource allocation, and the conditions that determine when a document is considered expired.

info

Note: Files/emails must first be marked for delete in contentACCESS Portal. For more information, see Tasks supported by entities/models.

Create a Delete job​

Go to Jobs → Add new → Delete from archive.

On the job's configuration page, go through the following sections. Most of them are mandatory; filtering settings are optional.

Running mode settings​

The job can be run in three modes:

  1. Immediate deletion — collects the expired documents and deletes them.

  1. Create report — collects the expired documents and provides a CSV file with a list of documents. The administrator can delete documents from the list.

  1. Apply report — a CSV file with a list of documents to be deleted must be uploaded. The administrator can delete documents from the list before running the job (only documents that are in the list will be processed). The job reads the list and, if the documents are expired, deletes them.

Scheduling settings​

In this step, select the running times of the Delete job. You can either select a scheduler from the list or create a new scheduler via the Create new … option.

Folders to process​

In this section, select the folder(s) where the archived data are located. The list of folders can be specified in two ways:

  1. Add folders manually via the + new option. Click + new to open the File Path dialog, then click new to specify the folder from which the files should be deleted. In the Folder to process dialog, unroll the list of already created roots and select the one that should be applied. This dropdown lists the roots that are already configured (in File Archive → Settings → Root folders). Enter the Relative path if necessary, test the path using the Test button, and click OK.

  1. Import the folder list from a file. The file to be imported must contain the list of folders that should be processed. Click the Import button to open the Import file location dialog and specify the required settings as described in Importing contentACCESS configurations from files.

Processing settings​

In this section, you may select the Delete even if not marked for delete checkbox. If selected, the Delete job will delete expired items even if they have not been marked for delete.

Filtering settings​

Click Change filter and configure the filtering according to your needs and/or regulations. To learn more about working with filtering settings, see Filtering in jobs.

info

Note: Using All text can cause a performance deficit, as it requires searching through large amounts of text data instead of a more focused subset.

info

Note: In certain cases, the creation date of a file is set to a younger date than its modification date. This happens when a file is copied to another external disk (for example, from disk G to disk I) — in this case, the creation date is set to the date of the copy action. Because of this, we recommend always checking the Filtering settings if something does not get processed.

Notification settings​

Specify when you need to receive notification emails from the Delete job. You can set notifications to be sent always, never, or only if an error/warning occurred during the process — for example, if the deletion of one or more items failed. In the Recipient list textbox, enter the email addresses of the people who should receive these emails. If there are multiple recipients, separate the addresses with , or ;.

Resource settings​

Set the value that determines how many items will be processed simultaneously by the Delete job. The recommended value is 2.

At the end, always save your job configuration by clicking Save in the upper-left corner of the UI.

When does a document expire?​

A document is considered expired in the following cases:

  1. The protected retention has expired (archive date / reference date + protected retention is in the past), the document is not under legal hold, and the document is marked for deletion.
  2. The unprotected retention is defined and has expired (archive date / reference date + unprotected retention is in the past).