SharePoint archive retention changer job configuration
Introduction
The SharePoint archive retention changer job changes the retention time of selected files, provided that retention changes are supported at storage level. Storages that support this change are Disk, Azure, and Amazon S3.
This page describes how to create and configure a SharePoint archive retention changer job, including its running mode, retention, scheduling, site scope, filtering, notification, and resource settings.
Create the job
- Go to Jobs.
- Click + new.
- Select SharePoint archive retention changer.
On the job's configuration page, configure the following sections.
Running mode settings (mandatory)
The job can run in three modes:
- Immediate processing — collects the items and changes their retention.
- Create report — collects the items and generates a CSV file with a list of items. The administrator can review and edit the list of affected documents.
- Apply report — requires a CSV file with a list of items to be processed to be uploaded. The administrator can delete items from the list before running the job; only items remaining on the list will be processed. The job reads the list and changes the retention of the items it contains.
Retention settings (mandatory)
Select the new retention to be applied to the items.
Scheduling settings (mandatory)
In this section, select the running times of the retention changer job. You can either select a scheduler from the list or create a new one using the Create new … option.
Sites to process (mandatory)
In this section, select which site(s) or group(s) will be processed. The available options change based on the SharePoint archive system settings.
On-premise mode
Only the select site option is available. Click + select site and specify the root and the relative URL in the pop-up window. A root can be a site collection, a subsite, a library, or a folder already defined in the Site connections section.
Microsoft 365 mode
When Microsoft 365 is selected on the System settings page, you can either process:
- All sites — the retention will be changed on all provisioned and archived sites, or
- Selected sites — select individual sites and/or groups in this section.
When selected sites is chosen from the drop-down list, click + select site or + select group and specify the root and the relative URL in the pop-up window. A root can be a site collection, a subsite, or a library. You can also test the connection using the Test button.

Filtering settings (optional)
Click Change filter and configure the filtering according to your needs and/or regulations. To learn more about working with filtering settings, see the Filtering in jobs section of the documentation.

Note: In certain cases, the creation date of a file is set to a more recent date than its modification date. This happens when a file is copied to another external disk (for example, from disk G to disk I) — the creation date is then set to the date of the copy action. Because of this, always check the Filtering settings if some items do not get processed.
Notification settings (mandatory)
Specify when you need to receive notification emails from the retention changer job. You can choose to always or never receive notifications, or only when an error or warning occurs during processing — for example, if the retention change of one or more items fails. In the Recipient list textbox, enter the email addresses of the people who should receive these emails. If there are multiple recipients, separate the addresses with , or ;.
Resource settings (mandatory)
Set the value that determines how many items will be processed simultaneously by the retention changer job. The recommended value is 2.
Once all sections are configured, click Save in the upper-left corner of the UI to save the job configuration.